#WINology #MotivationMonday

It’s Motivation Monday!!!  It’s amazing how much more motivated I am on Mondays now that I’m self-employed.  No more commuting.  No more high-stressed lawyers (even though I love most of you guys haha).  No more last minute deadlines.  I worked Thursday through Saturday last week and am now off for a few days while the hubs works the daily grind.  Don’t get me wrong, with 3 kids here full time there’s laundry, cooking, dishes, band practice and dental appointments today but there’s also time for exercise and the pool.  Heck yes!  I love being self-employed.

Journaling: I’m still plugging and chugging the Book WINology by Joel Scrivner and wanted to recap some of my highlights thus far as “notes to self”.  So, here goes…

I’m doing the best I can.  Welcome to the war cry of medioctrity! .

Losers always whine about doing their best! The same is true today…

To Master Your Craft will require a constant application of knowledge, going above and beyond what’s “normal” or required, and the continual sharpening of your skill sets.

Good is the enemy of great.

If you spend 30 minutes, every day, learning about one specific subject, you’ll become a legitimate expert in six months. [Note – our boys’ teachers asked us to make sure that they read 30 minutes per day to stay sharp on their reading level and vocabulary.  The youngest sons private lesson instructor told him to practice his trumpet every day for at least 30 minutes.  Not 3-4 times a week.  Daily.  They’ve heard this time and time again.]

Accept constructive criticism.  Too much acceptance and “Attaboys” can prove to be destructive to our performance.

Reminder: Goals connected to health, parenting, relationships, or hobbies can carry a much more difficult definition of reward.  Thus, motivation can run thin at times. [Oh my gosh … no kidding!]

Never feel like it’s a slap in the face to learn from “the greats”.  Imitate first – even at this level of your journey. [I love this because I’ve started watching YouTube videos posted by the “greats” in my business and am loving learning from them.  After all, aren’t we born imitators doing and saying what we see and hear our parents do?]

To be a champ, you have to believe in yourself when no one else will.

You have great gifts inside of you that can and will make the world and people around you better [haha… increase my faith!]

It’s time to either put up or shut up.

Recognize the negative, but don’t camp there.

The cancer of any marriage: selfishness

What dreams do you have for your life right now?  What is your heart’s greatest desire?

Y’all, I love these little reminders and being asked these questions.  I so need it.  Maybe everyone does.  I certainly don’t have all of the answers for myself yet but life is a journey, right?

Coffee cheers from Texas y’all.

Happy Summer.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

