The Value of the Lost

Sometimes I sit through sermons that I’ve heard what feels like a million times and just kind of check out.  I day dream, scribble notes on paper, draft blog ideas, make a grocery list.  ADD on steroids over here y’all.

About 6-7 years ago James DeMelo gave a sermon at Covenant Church about the Value of the Lost.  He mentioned that in church settings sometimes Christians become a little like … cultish (but he didn’t use that word).  You know, like they make sure they are in their Christian circles and listening to their Christian music and can tend to look down on others who aren’t Christians.  He said that is because they clearly don’t see the value of the lost.  But God does.  God searches and pursues and chases down the lost.  If Christians understood God’s heart for the lost, they wouldn’t treat them they way they do.  Fast forward…

Last weekend I realized that my diamond earring was not in my ear.  The earrings were a very nice gift from my husband about 3 years ago.  And I’ve had them in my ears ever since.  The only time I take them out is when they are inspected and cleaned at the jewelers.  But it was GONE. Like gone gone.

I felt panic.  Then nausea.  It wasn’t pretty.  My husband, myself, my 18 year old son and his friend all sprang into action to seek and search for the missing earring.  It was dark outside, around 10 pm, and we were on our hands and knees using cell phones as flash lights searching every single square inch of the patio.  Jokingly, I thought in my head, is this how serious God is about the lost haha?  Despite my ADD personality during sermons, that sermon sure did pop into my head pretty darn quick when I was searching for something so valuable to me that was lost.

The Parable of the Lost CoinLuke 15:8-10New King James Version (NKJV)

“Or what woman, having ten silver coins, if she loses one coin, does not light a lamp, sweep the house, and search carefully until she finds it? And when she has found it, she calls her friends and neighbors together, saying, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found the piece which I lost!’ 10 Likewise, I say to you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

I had been at my friends house earlier that day and when I realized the earring was missing I immediately text her to let her know.  And when I found it, I sent a picture of it to her rejoicing that I had found the missing earring.

Talk about a modern day life lesson of a sermon yall.

Coffee cheers your way.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

