Thanksgiving 2016

It’s time for my annual Thanksgiving journal entry. Giving thanks is so important to me. I tell the boys every night at dinner to find “something” to give thanks for each day. As long as you are living and breathing there must be SOMETHING for which you can be thankful.

dickinsFor me, I can officially call 2016 my Charles Dickens year. It truly was the best of times and the worst of times with moments of both despair and hope. Or, as I call it, storms of life followed by rainbows and butterflies LOL. Sounds a bit like normal life doesn’t it?

This year was particularly difficult in that I had a milestone birthday, a semi midlife crisis of sorts, rocky marital waters, my employment position got hacked and the company dissolved scattering my friends to multiple places, my closest friendships were tested, some relationships that were no longer beneficial and needed to be severed were completely severed, I definitely went through a period of uncertainty regarding who (if anyone) I could truly trust, and the list goes on and on. I definitely miss my weekly “lunch therapy” group but aside from that so many GREAT things happened this year. In fact, I have more hope for the future than I have had since … maybe ever.

Mentally and physically I am at the best place I’ve been since we moved here 4 years ago. I still have that “secretary 20” to lose that I gained over 3 years but I’m stronger than I’ve been in ages. My husband took me to Mexico for a much needed vacation and to see several of my favorite musicians that had always been on my bucket list (aka life list). I made new friends at an outdoor fitness bootcamp, several friendships became significantly stronger including reconnecting with my long lost half-sister, I secured my blendedfamilyhellonearth website domain which is in the works, launched a private Facebook small group for blended families and single parents, and am focusing the rest of 2016 on empowering myself and empowering others. New self-employment business endeavors have begun and I’m fully living life daily in a manner that genuinely reflects a work-life balance in its proper order.

Lessons from this year: It is so true that you should love your neighbor AS yourself. But I went through a period this year where I really did not love myself or my life anymore. In fact, I only loved dogs. I walked through the reasons I no longer loved myself dealing with each issue head on rather than sweeping the issues under the rug pretending they didn’t exist. My half-sister (and technically only sibling) helped me walk through my “daddy issues” sharing conversations our dad had with her that I had needed to hear for years. It was a void of sorts that has been very healing.

My marriage is the best it’s been in 5 years. In fact, my husband just text me Friday morning from work to let me know how much he loves “us” and our family right now. We have been working together as a team and have finally reached a “sweet spot” with the blended family issues and our communication.

I know life is a roller coaster and there will always be highs and lows but things are going so great right now that I actually want to hit pause and just enjoy it a little bit longer.

Let my life be living proof to you that no matter how dark the hard days may seem there is light around the corner and things WILL get better. Faith and hope are so important.

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family (however difficult, broken or blended your family may be).

And Go Cowboys!!!

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

