Skipping Church… #Family #Weekends #DaveRamsey #FinancialPeaceUniversity

maid

Happy Weekend Y’all!

I have a confession.  I skipped church today.  And I’m loving it.  This is the first time in over a week that I have had over 15 minutes of alone time at home.  Now, I wouldn’t call it relaxing but it sure is nice.  I’m batch cooking 3 meals for the week (taco meat, ground beef chili & crockpot style chicken teriyaki) while keeping laundry moving (about 6 loads which will take most of the day).  But it’s QUIET!!!  I’ll take it!

This picture came up on my Facebook newsfeed this morning and it truly made me laugh out loud.  Just earlier this week I was talking to Miss Sherri over lunch at work about how it just may be time for me to hire help in the home.  Even if it’s just a high school student who can help out in the evenings picking up and dropping off kids, getting homework started or getting dinner on the table (that’s already cooked and just needs to be heated up).  Football is a short season.  It’s only 6-8 weeks.  But for that 6-8 weeks my husband is gone from 6 am until 8:45 or so pm and our schedule is nuts.  The house work gets more and more behind though the needs and demands of the family increase.  There just aren’t enough hours in a day to get it all done.  Let’s throw in additional demands at work, poor work leadership, and lots of stressed out co-workers.  Oh yeah… what a life! Haha.

I looked around at work this week to see if there was anyone else in my position who could empathize with this stage of life I’m in and the answer was … no.  The majority of legal assistants at work have grown kids.  Even then most only had 1-2 kids.  Very few people have 3-4 kids at home and are trying to live this hilarious work life balance roller coaster that we are in.  I looked at the lawyers.  Lots of them have kids at home but most of them have stay-at-home wives.  For good reason!  I don’t blame them.  That would be AWESOME.

So, I sat back this week asking myself why in the world we are trying to have two working parents outside of the home and why in the world am I not independently wealthy LOL?  I mean, come on, wouldn’t that be nice?  To have the financial freedom to be able to balance work and life.  Which reminded me… why we are doing this.

Praise report (well, that’s what they call it at church anyway)!  After 2 1/2 years of both of us working full time, we have plugged and chugged our Dave Ramsey Financial Peace plan and have now hit several of our goals (baby steps as he calls them).  We have paid off all of our unsecured loans and credit card debt, have saved 6 months of an emergency fund, have built up our high-deductible HSA account to cover our deductible in the event of an emergency, are both now contributing to our retirement accounts, and were able to take a vacation this year (which is my main goal – an annual vacation and world travel).  THAT is why we are doing this.  Thank you Dave Ramsey!!!

When I look at the chaotic schedule closely (which is really only 8 weeks long it just feels like a million years), it’s easy to become discouraged.  But when I take a step back and look at how much we have been able to accomplish over the past 2 1/2 years, it reminds me that (1) this isn’t forever, (2) we do have a plan, (3) we are following the plan, and (4) life really is good.  It’s all about perspective.

During the process, I’ve also made real friends and have had AMAZING revelation.  I’ve seen first hand who is for me, who is against me, who I can trust, who NOT to trust, who is team work minded, who is all for themselves and a dozen other life lessons that I needed to learn.

So, happy weekend from Texas y’all. Coffee cheers your way.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

