Love… Betrayal… Forgiveness (Repeat)

Betrayal – the breaking or violation of a trust or confidence within a relationship. Often betrayal is the act of supporting a rival group, or it is a complete break from previously decided upon norms. Backstabbing.

My heart is broken. I am shocked. I cannot believe that the ones closest to me have betrayed me.  Judas’s kiss.  Or can I? I’ve been talking with some wise co-workers and friends recently and each and every one of them has been deeply hurt by close family or friends. One friend was molested by her own father. Another has been slandered by her sister causing division during family holiday celebrations. Another has been cheated on in marriage. Another’s child made promises to pay her college loans but didn’t pay it resulting in the friend who’s in her 60s having her retirement account drained to meet the litigation expenses and settlement. She feels like she’s starting over in life. Each heart has been betrayed and hurt.  The walking wounded.

Have you ever been betrayed? If so, how long did it take you to heal? Did it change you forever or only momentarily? What did you learn? Were you able to forgive quickly? Was reconciliation ever possible?

Sadly, I think betrayal is a routine, normal event in our society today. In fact, I think it’s far rarer to have genuine love, loyalty, and honesty in a relationship – to have a faithful and true friend.

I remember this story. Matthew 24 (v 3) Later, Jesus sat on the Mount of Olives. His disciples came to him privately and said, “Tell us, when will all this happen? What sign will signal your return and the end of the world?… (v 10) … many will turn away from me and betray and hate each other. 11 And many false prophets will appear and will deceive many people. 12 Sin will be rampant everywhere, and the love of many will grow cold. 13 But the one who endures to the end will be saved.

Many will betray and hate each other and the love of many will grow cold but the one who endures to the end will be saved. So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! 36 Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised. Heb 10:35. We must endure during difficult times.

What is God’s will when we have been betrayed or feel as though we have been betrayed?

All I can hear ringing in my ears is “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” Eph 4:32. If another believer sins, rebuke that person; then if there is repentance, forgive. Even if that person wrongs you seven times a day and each time turns again and asks forgiveness, you must forgive.” (Luke 17:3-5).

I opened my Duck Dynasty journal this morning and it was EXACTLY on this topic!

To those I have betrayed, please forgive me. And to those who have betrayed me, please repent. We will never be able to be strong if we remain divided.

Love always wins.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

