Breathe … Weeks 4 & 5 Highlights from “Coming Info Focus” #Breathe #SabbathMargin

Week 4 started with a story about a city that is so full of smog that the residents cannot see the sun. It’s so bad that they will play videos of sunsets and sunrises on large monitors because that’s the only way they can see it. She said that’s us sometimes. We’re so buried and busy and cluttered by life that we can’t see the Son. (Ding Ding Ding Ding … good point. I can truly relate to that.  I’m sure many of us can.)

Yahweh masterfully crafted ten miracles to bring immense difficulty to Pharaoh and his kingdom when he refused to release the Hebrews… The whole point of remembering their slavery was to help them automatically become conscious of their current state of freedom… Sabbath was the predetermined space of time carved out so they could give God the honor and worship due to Him for setting them free.

Isa 58:13-14 ESV “If you….call the Sabbath a delight and the holy day of the Lord honorable; if you honor it, not going your own ways…then you shall take delight in the Lord, and I will make you ride on the heights of the earth: I will feed you with the heritage of Jacob your father”.

If honoring Sabbath margins in your life can promote a healthy relationship with the Lord, consider the opposite effect that neglecting it may have…How do you think neglecting the Sabbath – space and time to honor God – might invite the growth of other sin in our lives?

Week 5 – the Final Video

She shared a quote from a book that truly challenged me. It was something like “There is a tension between the urgent and the important (the things that truly matter but that are not immediate versus the things that must be handled now but that aren’t truly important)… We become a slave to the tyranny of the urgent.”

Currently, I have allowed the urgency of my work life to become a slave driver. When I come home I’m exhausted, frustrated, moody, irritable and snappy.  I briefly hug everyone, ask them about their day (without really listening to their responses) and head straight to my room for some quite time. I have become a slave to the never-ending stream of urgency meanwhile losing focus on the things that truly matter.

My husband said “welcome to corporate America… the American dream”. And to that I can honestly say, then I don’t want it.

Peace in my heart, family time (even just having dinner together but where I’m truly present mentally) maintaining healthy relationships, having a loving attitude, exercising, blogging, and maintaining a proper work/life balance are the things that are most important to me.   I’m not sure all the steps required to make the transition from urgency to important, but it’s definitely time to work on that.

And on that note, I’m going to go exercise and have some family time right now.

Coffee cheers your way.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

