Fight or Flight #FollowMe

Ahhhhh…. finally. I’ve got notes upon notes scribbled down on scratch paper that I just haven’t had time to journal. Last Sunday October 4, 2015 the speaker at church taught about life frustrations and human reactions to those frustrations. He said that most times people tend to “Force” or “Flee” their circumstances. That makes sense to me based on the good ole “fight or flight” theory. The example he used of Force or Flee was a lesson that I need to remember out of Gen 16:1-15.

Forcing it – Sarai wanted a child so she asked her husband Abram to sleep with her maidservant in order to give her a child.   When we come up with our own solutions without submitting to God’s plan, we cause a lot of damage.

Fleeing – When Hagar was fleeing Sarai, the Angel of the Lord asked Hagar “where have you come from and where are you going”? When you are on your way to your purpose and destiny there will always be off ramps and opportunities to quit. We often spend our lives defined by what we’re running from rather than what we’re running to.

What I’ve learned over this past 5-6 years is that though I am running, running, running from my past, it’s still there. If the Angel of the Lord were to ask me what I was running from, I could give him an ear full. But if the Angel of the Lord asked me where I was running to, I would be speechless. Where am I running to? Where am I going? I honestly don’t even know. I’m just running and it’s exhausting.

I know there are areas of my life that I want to rush through because I find them difficult or uncomfortable. There are times I am tempted to take matters into my own hands because it seems God isn’t doing anything.  But I must remember that when we come up with our own solutions without submitting to God’s plan, we cause a lot of damage.

In my Duck Commander Devo on August 13, Al says “Most of my painful lessons in life have come when I tried to impose my plan onto God’s plan. He doesn’t need my help and yet I continue to try and give it!” He prays “Father, forgive our impatience and our limited vision.”

Yes, I agree!!! 🙂

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

