Breathe.. Making Room for the Sabbath (Blog 1) #Breathe #PriscillaShirer

Our church has been pushing life groups pretty hard this past couple of months trying to get everyone to join some type of group or study. The Hubster is helping his friend support a Men’s Bible Study and they’ve both encouraged me several times to get plugged into something (Well, Don flat out asked me which one I was going to attend because I need to join one ya know. What’s my problem? Pushy little guy). Hubster sent me the link to the directory of Fall groups asking me to look them over. Finally, I did just that and dismissed all of them that occurred on Sunday, Monday, Thursday or Friday due to schedule conflicts. I just shook my head. No no no. I just don’t have the time to add one more thing to my bossy pants calendar. Not. One. More. Thing.

On September 10th I read this in my Duck Commander Devotional. Honor God and Rest. Exodus 20:8-10 “Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work”. Willie writes “It is very easy to keep working on through the breaks, thinking that by the sweat of our own brow, we are making our way…”.

I gave in to peer pressure and attended Session 2 of Priscilla Shirer’s Breath study and, in classic Shirer fashion, she made a great point that hit me hard. The concept of rest was addressed in the Manna instructions God gave His people in Exodus 16. They were to gather the bread for six days but on the seventh day there would be no manna. Instead, God “gives you on the sixth day bread for two days… so the people rested on the seventh day.” God provided a double portion on the sixth day.

I remember participating in one of Lysa TerKeurst’s online bible studies where she mentioned her husband who owns a Chick Fil A which is closed on Sundays. She said that she believes that God provides seven days’ worth of business within the six days that they are open.

Do I really trust God to supply the double portion in my life? I’m not sure that I do but I can honestly say that I want to trust Him to provide the double portion. I want to rest free from guilt and to recharge my heart, mind, body and soul. In fact, I need it now more than ever.

Some of my highlighted reminders from the first reading (Week 1 p. 9-11): Harriet Tubman said “I freed thousands of slaves. I could have freed thousands more, if they had known they were slaves.”… I was a slave and didn’t know it. I was bound by things I never even thought of as possible taskmasters… (things) could begin to control us if they aren’t kept in check (ex. shopping, eating, home decorating, social media, working, ministry, opinions of others, marriage, children, relaxing, hobbies, exercise, weight, appearance, sleep, obsessing over something, etc.).

Side note: I’ve been watching Dave Ramsey’s financial freedom seminar online and he said “The rich rule over the poor, and the borrower is slave to the lender.” Proverbs 22:7. A month or so ago I really began to see debt as slavery. That we aren’t truly a slave to our jobs or schedule, we are a slave to our bills and the debts that we owe because we have borrowed.

I can tell you this. These recent lessons have been eye opening for me and I’m ready to be free from modern day bondage.

Social media hugs to all. Coffee cheers your way.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

