Oh My Gosh!!! I’m Friends with God’s Personal Assistant

Work life as a litigation legal secretary gets a little crazy hectic busy. Ok, a lot crazy hectic busy. So, most days I prefer to take my lunch break from 8:30-9:00 am and work straight through the rest of the day. However, there are THOSE days. The days that it’s best for everyone that I take a lunch break (like PMS days or tummy ache days), the occasional day when I’m actually ahead of schedule and have time to stop for an hour, or those days when I just need to take a breather with one of my favorite gal pals. She’s my “mercy friend” [blog coming soon eventually] aka my “fiery red-headed friend”. Recently, however, I discovered that she’s also God’s Personal Assistant. And she never even told me!!! Here’s how I found out…

Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “No, not today.” Me: “Why, are you slammed?” Her: “No, I’m leaving early today to meet with a car mover. I’m having my car shipped out of state to a single mom who really needs it.” Me: “Oh ok, maybe tomorrow or next week.” Her: “sounds great.”

A few days later… Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “No, not today.” Me: “Why, are you slammed?” Her: “No, I’m leaving early today to get my house ready. A friend’s son is on military leave for a bit and needs a place to stay. I really need to get home to get things situated for his arrival.” Me: “Oh ok, maybe tomorrow or next week.” Her: “sounds great.”

A few days later… Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “No, not today.” Me: “Why, are you slammed?” Her: “No, I’m leaving early today to get the dogs picked up. A child at my church is having cancer treatments and can’t be around animals so I’m dog sitting his dog for the next few weeks.” Me: “Oh ok, maybe tomorrow or next week.” Her: “sounds great.”

A few days later… Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “No, not today.” Me: “Why, are you slammed?” Her: “No, I’m leaving early today to head to Louisiana to throw my niece a baby shower. Do you like these cards I had made for her?   I had to pay for expedited shipping but I really love them. I hope she likes them.” Me: “Oh ok, maybe tomorrow or next week.” Her: “sounds great.”

A few days later… Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “No, not today.” Me: “Why, are you slammed?” Her: “No, I’m leaving early today to take lunch to a mom at our church whose son is having cancer treatments at Cook Children’s this week.” Me: “Oh ok, maybe tomorrow or next week.” Her: “sounds great.”

A few days later… Me: “Hey girl, do you have time for lunch today?” Her: “Yes! Let’s go!” Thankfully, we have had the ability to have lunch together at least every other week for the past few months despite her crazy serving others schedule.

One of those days(at our favorite spot – PF Chang’s), we ended up talking about spiritual gifts and she told me that one of her gifts is service (Really? I never saw that one haha). But then she followed it up with “But I just don’t really feel like I do anything with my gifts for God.” Insert cricket sounds here followed by my very loud burst of laughter.

Isn’t it funny how the ones that do the most are often times the ones who feel like they do the least.

My hunch (and I could so be wrong) is that she doesn’t feel like she’s serving because it’s not in a church type environment, with a church type title in a church type delegated task. It’s just in daily life as lead by the Spirit. [And, she’s not allowed to use her spiritual gifts with a leadership title at her church because she has a tattoo and those with tattoos cannot lead there. But that’s a completely different blog…].

To me, the “church” is people. Period. It’s not a building. Not a particular denomination. Not a particular congregation. To my fiery red-headed friend: You, girlfriend, ARE God’s personal assistant. You hear when He speaks. You listen when He talks. You obey His leading and prompting even when it hurts. Whether you recognize it or not, you ARE using your spiritual gifts for God and you use them OFTEN!!! I’m so glad that I met you and that I’ve had the opportunity to see what service looks like outside of the church setting. You, my friend, are the real deal. So, just keep listening 🙂

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

