Why I Decided NOT to go to Law School

(For those of you who subscribe to this blog by email, I’m sorry I’m blowing up your inbox today.  I’ve got a ton of blogs scribbled down on paper and am working to get them all entered… eventually)

After years of smack talking about what kind of lawyer I would be when I grew up, I actually decided NOT to go to law school when I had the chance.  Several people have asked me why I decided not to go.  In short, because I believe it’s a bad financial investment at this point in my life.  My goal is to be “debt free” and the debt I would incur going to law school is simply not worth the amount of effort and work I would have to put in to pay that debt off over the next however many years (or decades).  Granted, if I lived near a less expensive state school or had the ability to relocate for school, maybe it would be better financially.  However, that’s not a realistic option for me.

Thanks to Facebook’s Time Hop feature, I was reminded yesterday of a law school opportunity (that I passed up), but I can honestly say that I have no regrets in that decision.  When I saw the Time Hop post, I read the post as well as the comments and one of my comments said “no, I’m not going.  We have gone back & forth re whether the $200-$250k price tag (including loss of 3 years wages & cost of living loans) are a (1) debt or (2) an investment and either way all I ever want to do is take $2k and go to Mexico for a week.  At this point in life (today until the wind blows) I’d rather be the trusted cupbearer to someone great rather than the king himself.  But I sure was happy to get accepted.  It made me feel all happy and worthy.”

Reading over that comment again, I could not agree more with what I said.  In hindsight, here’s what I notice now about that comment:  (1) I still think law school would be a bad financial investment for me and my family; (2) I still change my mind when the wind blows; (3) I definitely need to go back to the beach for a vacation sooner than later.  Florida, California, or the Canadian side of Niagara Falls sound a bit more appealing for my next trip than Mexico though; (4) a cupbearer describes me perfectly; and (5) I still want to work for someone “great”.

A cupbearer to the King.  That’s so funny.  And so like me.  A “cupbearer” is loyal to the core, stays to the end, and is willing to lay down his or her own life for the sake of their leader.  When we moved to DFW I wrote Proverbs 22:29 NLT on a notecard on my nightstand: “Do you see any truly competent workers?  They will serve kings rather than working for ordinary people.”  I wanted to work for the king.  Someone great, influential and that I genuinely admired.  Someone who could move me to action.  Someone who impressed me.  As for me, my focus would be on being a competent worker.  Going the extra mile.  Being willing to learn new things and pitching in whenever necessary.  Of course, that kind of work ethic can also lead to exhaustion and lots of stress.  But at the end of the day, my heart was in the right place.  I wanted to be a competent worker so that I could qualify to work for the king (a modern day king of course).

And I think that’s why my heart completely sunk when my family would not agree to move to the palace with me.  But that’s another blog for another day.

~Social media hugs to all.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

