Awe…. Political Season is Among Us

I just love working in a boutique law firm with so many different personalities. In one office sits the very far left liberal with photographs of Obama and in the office next to that one sits a far right conservative.  From my desk I overheard a lawyer on the phone saying “ok ok if Wendy Davis wins I’ll owe you dinner at Del Friscos and if Abbott wins you will owe me …”.

I’ve said it before but I must say it again. Man oh man believers have so many things that they could learn from the legal community like in What Christians Should Learn From Lawyers.

These intellectual professionals, for the most part, can discuss just about any topic without getting offended or upset. That’s just what they do. They debate and discuss both sides of everything yet still set aside their differences in order to work toward a common goal (handling a client’s case and making payroll to keep food on the table).

Today there were four of us in the lunch room when I said “ok, give me your take on the story of the woman who committed suicide this weekend under the death with dignity law”. And woo hoo, we had one of the best discussions that I have had in a long time.  It was amazing all of the different views, what ifs, and legal scenarios that we were able to brainstorm in that short amount of time.

As for the woman that did end her life, I am absolutely not judging her or her choice as I have no idea what all she was going through and I am not in her shoes.  But let me tell you this, when my husband told me that he could definitely see himself wanting that option available to him should he ever be in a terminally ill situation, I sure did sit right up and had quite a few things to say to him which definitely included an “I don’t think so buddy”.  He and I went back and forth for a few minutes and this is what it boiled down to for me.  I would not want him to make fear based decisions.  Yes, we will feel fear and will sometimes make decisions based on fear, but even then that is followed by conviction for lacking faith and courage and giving into fear.  So, if it were my loved one, I would definitely want him or her to choose the path of walking it out until the end, trusting God to supply him or her with a measure of grace daily, and casting down negative fear based thoughts that would lead to being upset about my expected future.  Now, if he was in terrible pain and on his death bed, someone better be in there giving him the best happy medicine on the face of the planet.  But otherwise, I would encourage him to be very careful making permanent decisions based on temporary, fear based emotions about the future.  Well, knowing me, I would actually remind him that his body is not his own because we are married and that we are to submit one to another so …. haha.

And to that I say, man I love discussing different political views.  Love. Love. Love it.

Happy voting tomorrow everyone 🙂

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awe…. Political Season is Among Us

  1. godizreal says:

    Reblogged this on godizreal and commented:

    Every now and then I’m reminded about who I really am. Oh my gosh how I love these current political debates and views. I love that we can share our views and agree to disagree. I love term limits and presidential elections. #GodBlessAmerica

Leave a Reply

