God’s Not Dead (and Unanswered Prayers)

The hubs and I watched the movie God’s Not Dead with the kids Friday night. Then we talked about it on and off all weekend long. It’s a very good thing that I married a man who can discuss things, specifically spiritual topics, with me for hours on end. That’s my favorite hobby. Viewing things from multiple perspectives and arguing both sides of each view.  No wonder I work in the legal industry LOL.

Anyway… hubby said that he could understand the teacher’s perspective in that movie. He could see how a Christian would turn atheist after praying out to God to have his mother healed yet she died anyway. Myself, being an atheist/agnostic turned Christian, I can see that. But, I also see an added component of pride.

There have definately been times that I told God (prayed to God, cried out to God, begged God, etc) what to do and how to handle a situation, yet He didn’t handle it my way. So, I wanted to take my ball and go home and not reach out to Him anymore since He doesn’t listen to me anyway. Eventually, I come back around. But man oh man my faith feels weakened. For example, I was looking through my journal today preparing to write an entry when I stumbled across a prayer for a girlfriend of mine. Well for her husband who had been diagnosed with terminal cancer. March 10, 2014 … “I still pray for a ‘knock your socks off’ miracle for” them.  And I was certain that a healing miracle would come just to knock the socks off of the medical industry workers who all assumed that he would die and to reveal God’s glory. Yet, he died in late July.  (Though from what I hear, he did see heaven and discuss it with people at the hospital).

So, what do we do when God doesn’t answer our prayers our way? When it feels like we should stop praying because He does not do things like we want? For me, that right there is exactly where I lose the game. I  stop seeking and stop praying because I begin to doubt that “it works”. It – this faith marathon – truly is a battle of the mind. That’s why it is so important that we guard our thoughts. Which reminds me of the verse “For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ..” 2 Cor 10:4-5.

And I assure you that GOD IS REAL and GOD’S NOT DEAD!

Love,

The God iz Real blog 🙂

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

