The Power of Perspective

Last week I bought a new florescent coral pinkish hoodie that is perfect for cool spring evenings on the patio and looks great with comfy black yoga pants.  Score!  I washed it with my favorite laundry detergent to make it so soft and good smelling.  Then I hung it up next to all of my spring colored tank tops and undershirts when I noticed that last season’s tank tops actually look pretty washed out and faded.  My gosh, I’m going to need some new brightly colored tanks this spring/summer season.

Life is like that sometimes.  Parts of our life get faded and washed out and we don’t even notice it until we gain a new, fresh prospective.  That reminds me of the verse, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life.” Prov 13:12 NLT.  The loss of hope (prolonged stress, anger, frustration, pain, sadness, grief) can leave us feeling like that old, faded shirt.

Or maybe, like me, you did not even realize you had become so faded until you had a fresh perspective (hope, excitement, joy).  Which reminds me of the 40 Watt Light thought I had awhile back in I Am Light.  That, too, was about perspective.  40 watts doesn’t seem like much until you compare it to darkness.  Then it’s amazingly bright.

Earlier today I had a few texts with my Flame Thrower friend when I realized that I’m starting to feel like the Geico Piggy screaming Weeeeee all the way home.  Sometimes I can get stuck focusing on the final end results in life and forget to enjoy the roller coaster ride and excitement of the unknown twists and turns that can be exhilarating along the way.

If you are feeling like that faded shirt or 40 watt bulb, put yourself in a different environment or around someone or something that will give you a fresh perspective and the hope that you need.   It’s truly amazing what perspective can do.  Let’s enjoy the ride folks.

Coffee cheers your way.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

