Leadership 101

Lately, I have again been thinking about relationship chemistry but from a leadership prospective.  Like my Soda Fountain  flavor theory.

For example, my amazing husband is an incredible leader and I have thrived and grown leaps and bounds under his leadership in or marriage.  In fact, I have learned to just go to him with pretty much everything because he makes very wise decisions and he is usually right.  His ratio of making wise decisions is way way higher than mine at least, I’ll tell ya that.

Likewise, professionally, when I am under great legal leadership, I thrive as an employee and learn and soak up their wisdom and knowledge with excitement.  I become passionate about work and glow.  But when I am under poor leadership and poor management then I cave and crumble and become miserable.

I have seen law firms that have a very high turnover rate of employees.  From the inside, those employers seem to place quite a bit of blame on the people that they hired (yet are they not the ones who negligently hired the people that they hired?)  Also, I think their views are maybe a bit skewed.

While looking over legal job postings recently, I realized that my hopes for future work have changed.  Substantially changed.  Jobs that seemed amazing years ago do not attract my attention the same way now at all.  What I am looking for is a great leader and a law firm with minimal turnover (a sign and symptom of a healthy law firm and good leadership).  My husband says “when the head is strong, the body is strong.  When the head is weak, the body is weak.  Leadership is the problem.  Leadership is the answer.”  He has been saying that since I met him and time and time again, I see that is so true.

So, are there law firms left that have solid, genuine, positive management and leadership? Healthy staff members, low turnover?  Granted, we are talking about the legal profession here LOL.  So that might be a stretch and this job search may take AWHILE. Just kidding just kidding…. kind of.

So, does a great leader look like?  Where did I go for answers?  Google.  Duh.  Haha.  And I found this article about Inspiring Leaders in the Bible.  My favorite reminders in this article were that leaders stick up for their people, they rule by example rather than command, and most of all they are servants.

Matthew 20:25-28 ESV.  But Jesus called them to him and said, “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them. It shall not be so among you. But whoever would be great among you must be your servant, and whoever would be first among you must be your slave, even as the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Oh yes, inspiring great legal leadership will be there in the trenches with you burning the midnight oil when crap is hitting the fan.  In fact, he/she should be putting in more hours than anyone else as there should be no task to minuscule for the leader.  Like Joshua, he/she should lead by example rather than by commands and demands.

So, what am I hoping for now?  Inspiring  leadership within the legal community.  Someone who brings out the best in me (like my husband does).  For only then can I reach my highest and best God given potential.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

