I Totally Get “Doubting Thomas”

I have decided that my brother Thomas gets a bad rap.  Why?  Because my personality is very much like Thomas’ and I feel the need to defend myself for it LOL.  In fact, I like that Thomas is a bit of a skeptic and just doesn’t believe everything that he hears from others.  I bet he would make a good juror.  Also, he probably would not believe everything written in gossip magazines either.  That makes him my type of guy.  I think we would have hit it off just fine.

Yes.  Jesus said “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”  Yes, blessed they are.  But check this out… because I really think Thomas got the REAL blessing!

A long time ago, in my atheist/agnostic days, I had decided that there was NO God.  Ok, maybe there was a “god” but certainly no Jesus thus no Christianity. Have you heard the story from others?  It goes something like this.  A virgin got pregnant by a “spirit” and gave birth to a child who was God in the flesh who died for all of mankind and was raised from the dead.  Seriously? And now I should pay 10% of all of my income each week to your church to prove my loyalty to this unseen belief system because a book allegedly written thousands of years ago says so. Um…. No thanks.  You whackos can have your faith.  More power to you.  Intelligent design?  Absolutely possible.  Sure.  There could be a “god”. Jesus.  No freaking way.  Not possible at all.  Not unless Jesus appears to me Himself will I believe that hogwash.

So, Guess what!  God totally showed up Himself.  Looking at John 20:24-29, what I see is something far GREATER than a “doubting” person.  In fact, my Bible does not refer to this passage as “doubting Thomas” but as “Seeing and Believing”.   What I see is a loving, living God who made a special trip just for Thomas.  And when Jesus showed up, not only did He appear to the seen eye, He said “reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side.  Do not be unbelieving, but believing.”  Oh my gosh Jesus told Thomas to TOUCH HIM.  To see Him and to touch Him.  To encounter Him in the most personal way.  Why would Jesus go the extra mile like that for this one disciple?

Likewise, Jesus knew my “burden of proof” paralegal training and knew that I would need “proof beyond a reasonable doubt” to believe Him.  So, He made a special trip from the heavenly throne just for me too!!!  Call me “doubting” if you want, but I am THRILLED that I got a personal visit.  There’s nothing quite like it.  Jesus really is real.

Wow…God rocks!

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

