The Power of the Blood (Part 1)

Sept 29, 2013 – The Power of Blood by Pastor Marty

I’ve renamed this as a mental note to myself: Don’t Forget Where You Came From (more about The Woman with the Issue of Blood in Part 2)

Listening to pastors preach sermons often reminds me of lawyers during a trial.  Opening statement, burden of proof Exhibit A, burden of proof Exhibit B, burden of proof Exhibit C, burden of proof Exhibit D, final closing statement that pulls at the human emotions, all wrapped up in a call to action.  Attorney for Plaintiff rests.  I mean, see ya next Sunday.  We are so glad you are here.

This past Sunday, I REALLY REALLY did not feel like going to church.  I needed to work on a 4 hour practice test and if I started by 9:00 am I would have finished by early afternoon and could have the rest of my day to run a mile long errand list.  Ugh… but I skipped church last Sunday and watched from home.  Crud.  I can’t let the teens skip two Sundays in a row.  If I don’t go they for sure will try to get out of going.  Alright, fine.  Let’s go knock this out, put the check in the box, and get back because I have WAY TOO MUCH to do today.

We arrive early for one of the first times in church history, hug a couple of people at the coffee bar and proceed to enter the dimly lit “sanctuary” that reminds me of a small downtown movie theatre.  Much like the one in the church comedy skit “Sunday Morning” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzqaITA3IO0   (DISCLAIMER:  I super love this kind of service and big drums that make my heart feel like it’s going to pound out of my chest so I’m totally allowed to enjoy that comedy skit haha).  You’ve gotta have a sense of humor! Right?  Well, you do to be able to hang with me.

And then it happened.  Bam! Pow! Take that! One of the best “single sermon” messages that I’ve ever heard in my entire life.  Like ever. Why? Because it was literally the entire gospel message, through and through, centered around my favorite thing in the whole universe. The Power of the Blood of Jesus.  It also reminded me of where I came from when I did NOT have the blood.

I have always wanted to remember where I came from.  I used to LOVE the song “Jenny from the Block” for just that reason.  My favorite part was “Don’t be fooled by the rocks that I got, I’m still, I’m still Jenny from the block. Used to have a little, now I have a lot. No matter where I go I know where I came from…”.   Are you singing those lyrics? I am.  I’m always dancing to something in my head.  When that song came out I was making more money than I had ever made in my life, more than my parents made even.  I had just bought a brand new car and a very nice four bedroom brick home in the best school district in Denison at the young age of 23 or 24.  That may not be the same kind of “rocks” Jenny was talking about, but since I had lived in Section 8 government housing (the “projects”) on Tower Lane only 3-4 years before that, trust me, these were BIG rocks to me.  But, I did NOT want to forget where I came from.  I wanted to remember that hard road of severe poverty; to remain thankful and keep me humble.

So, back to the sermon.  I opened the weekly sermon handout and oh my gosh it was blank!  All it said was “The Power of Blood” Matthew 9:18-26.  There must have been some misprint.  Where were the blanks for Burden of Proof A, B, C, and D?  Uh oh.  What were they going to do?  What was I going to do?  I could not look up the message in advance LOL.

Then P. Marty took the stage and started preaching about the Woman with the Issue of Blood.  My mind started wondering… “by your faith you are healed; faith hope and love; without faith it’s impossible to please God…”.  I was waiting on the faith message.  Sometimes sermons can be predictable.  But nope, he didn’t go there.  He was actually preparing the sheep to take communion.  I’ve never heard the Woman with the Issue of Blood story preached before communion.  The blood of Jesus sure.  But not her blood.  Nope, not that I can recall.  And you know what?

He straight up threw down one of the best “gospel” messages – the message of the “good news” – that I have ever heard in my life.  You can watch it here http://www.rushcreek.org/sermon/power-blood

It was goosebumps on your arms good.  It was kind of like riding a roller coaster at Six Flags but at night.  Without the outline, I had no way to see where he was going to take us next and that made it really exciting.  Unpredictable.  Exhilarating to my spirit man actually.  I wanted to raise my arms or jump up and down or something.  Don’t worry though.  I kept my cool not to scare off any first time visitors. Haha.

Yes, yes, yes… The Power of the Blood.  I super love Jesus.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

