Ok, I gotta talk about Miley Cyrus

I’ve been seeing all of these “conservative” and very judgmental posts about Miley’s performance going around.  I don’t even have cable but the Associated Press tweeted about it and so many Facebookers are posting about it.  I mean they are lighting her up and trashing her from one side to the other.  In my classic “smarty pants while meaning well” fashion, I have some concerns of my own that have nothing to do with Miley.  It has to do with the hearts of the “self righteous” stone throwers (who I call “haters”) that are trashing her.  Here’s a modern day paraphrase for you.

One day adult Miley looked back on her life with much regret.  She had done some desperate things as a wounded youth and many looked down on her.  She wondered if God could ever forgive her or accept her because her sin list was far too long.  Meanwhile, a deacon and elder in the church came to God to pray and said “thank God I am raising my daughter right to keep her from becoming like the Miley Cyruses of the world.”  Would Miley or the deacon and elder be justified before God that day?

Do you remember the Parable of the Pharisee and Tax Collector.  Luke 18:9-14.

To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector.  The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector.  I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’  “But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’ 14 “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

Miley is a VERY young and rich girl.  Fame, money & youth can certainly lead to destruction.  Do you remember all the stupid things you did when you were young?

CHRISTians, STOP trashing Miley Cyrus.  Stop throwing stones.  Did you see how Jesus treated the woman caught in adultery?  “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her”.  I still remember Pastor James deMelo’s instructions to the congregation when Arnold Schwarzenegger was caught in adultery and having fathered a child outside of his marriage.  P James said “hands open, no stones”.  And he said a prayer for the family.  That same attitude applies today.  Hands open, no stones.  I am so very thankful that he taught us that.  So important.

Pray for Miley.  I hope that one day she will use her limelight experiences to reach out to other teens and young adults.  Maybe a “no stones” believer will intercept her path and build a relationship with her.  Someone who would be genuinely interested in her heart rather than her money and fame.  Someone who could focus on “why” she’s acting out.

And to the “Conservative” who authored that letter, let me add that if you truly raise your daughter right, she will reach out to her peers that are acting out and hurting rather than judge them and look down upon them.  You don’t need to put other people down in order to raise yourself up.  You trashing Miley does not reflect on Miley nearly as much as it reflects on you.  After all, “He who turns a sinner from the error of his way will save a soul from death and cover a multitude of sins”. James 5:20.

As a mother of teenagers, I promise you that there are WAY WORSE things than your daughter twerking in a bathing suit.  Get ready for the teenage ride.  Ugh.

To the modern day Pharisees, please put your stones down.  Those living in glass houses should not throw stones.  And I promise you, you live in a glass house.  Everyone does.

How about we talk about Randy Travis being in the news again?  I’ve got a view on that one too.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

