Stressed-Less Living Blog Hop (Week 3)

Hola Amigas,

I opened my email this morning to see what today’s blog hop assignment was and it was SO FUNNY to me.  There were two emails from Proverbs 31 Ministries.  One had today’s bible study assignment for Stressed-less Living and the other was the webcast email for Lysa TerKuerst’s Unglued Summer Sanity Savers.  I think I’m seeing a recurring theme among you ladies LOL.

I have chosen a combo question/answer for today from these two options:

2.  Hope From Upstream. Being a parent isn’t always easy and as Tracie shared, it’s even more challenging to follow God’s plan for our kids when you feel like you’re going against the flow. If you are a parent, share some godly advice from upstream on how you help your kids follow God’s will. {Ok, I hope we have LOTS of these since I only have a 3 month old cutie pie, so I’m excited to hear from you!!}

I cannot possibly get into the stress involved in raising teenagers especially raising them within a blended family which I’ve blogged about before in Blended Family Hell on Earth.  That is my primary stress source and can sometimes even lead me to ask if I would be better off single.  If we allow it, it can be our fiery furnace.  So we just don’t go there.  But man oh man when the author said “I honestly don’t know that I knew what real stress was until I was faced with the daunting task of raising teenagers” I was like oh sister I hear you.  Preach on.  So how about some HELP in that arena.

A women’s ministry leader from Denison reminded me this week that raising teenagers is very tough but in the scheme of life it doesn’t last long. It’s a few years of what can be intense difficulty but then it’s over (like child birth right).  Young adult hood and adult hood come in and it gets better.  So there is HOPE!  Also, I took my 2 oldest teens with me to a church in Sherman, TX for their “Raising Our Children in the Lions Den” series.  It was 12 weeks and the teens sat with me for those 12 sermons.  We listened each week, had homework assignments (which I did terrible at – who is their favorite teacher, song, color) and talked with each other about the lesson.  The sermons themselves are FREE online and I’ve posted them.  I think they may encourage you if you are looking for advice.

Raising Children in the Lion’s Den Part I

Raising Children in the Lions Den Part II

3.  Healthy Tomorrow. Chapter 3. What are some healthy choices you need to make for your life as you deal with stress? OR Share with us the healthy choices you already make!

I LOVE this topic because everyone has stress and there is no getting out of it.  But, we certainly don’t want to get trapped in a heavy cloud of murmuring, complaining, being unthankful, etc. right?  I certainly don’t want to be in the desert for 40 years Ha.  So despite the stress let’s keep moving forward!

My personal stress busting healthy choice aides are:

I am ALWAYS in a Bible Study.  I love your online bible studies because it keeps me in something on a daily basis.  Without the watering of my soul DAILY, I am just not as strong. I require daily food and water physically and spiritually to feel my best.

Daily “vine time” is a must.  My vine time is praise and prayer.  Every day I listen to praise & worship music the entire time I get ready (shower, makeup, etc.) and pray and give thanks on occasion throughout that time period.  I prefer Pandora worship stations like Bethel Live, Jesus Culture, Hillsong United, Kristian Stanfill, Passion Worship Band.  My husband prefers stations like Sidewalk Prophets, Phillips Craig & Dean, Mercy Me.  Whatever the station, this routine becomes addictive.  My teen complains that my music is too loud.  He sounds like my mom used to hehe.

I’ve given myself a bedtime of 10:30 pm (for now) and make sure that I get plenty of sleep.  Last week we finally went out and bought a new mattress so our sleep should be even better soon.  Being tired and crabby is not a good thing for me.  For anyone probably.

My doctor told me to have a goal to exercise at least 4 times a week.  This failed last week but it is my goal and it helps so much.  It makes me feel strong and gives me mental clarity.  A couple of months ago we began to notice that the hours of 4-8 pm Monday through Friday were some of the most stressful with the kids after school homework, special education needs, and them simply getting on each others nerves.  So we joined Lifetime Fitness and added our entire family to the gym membership.  We go work out now at least 2 nights during the week.  The kids can sign up for gym games, rock climbing, kids zumba etc while my husband and I can have an hour to exercise and catch up.  This may be the best money we have spent recently and it’s done wonders to make the weeknights shift from mundane to very enjoyable.  And the boys LOVE it.  After school they are like “are we going to the gym today”.  Heck yes. Yes we are guys.

Diet.  It is true.  You are what you eat.  When I eat like junk (which tastes so good) I feel like junk.  I LOVE chips and queso.  But my husband looks at me and says “don’t do it.  You know tomorrow you will say oh I’m so swollen and bloated, I don’t feel good.”  And he’s so right.  Sodium hangovers make me feel like garbage so I’ve been working on figuring out what fuels my own body the best.  It’s also really about self control and not being a glutten right?  A few chips aren’t bad but ladies I want the WHOLE bowl.

Girls night out!!!  I am a VERY social & relational person who works from home full time.  Which means, I have to wait a full week or two before I get to enjoy the company of other adults.  Day after day is working from home then kids and homework.  Repeat.  So, I am really really really thankful for our biweekly girls night get together.  We meet at a restaurant 2-3 times per month and share an appetizer and talk for 2-3 hours.  In fact, it’s tonight.  Yaye.  It’s awesome.  Which reminds me, I also LOVE visiting with you blog hoppers.  Being homebound makes me appreciate you even more.  I’m so glad you guys are in my life.

In summary, my stress busters are Bible, Worship, Sleep, Exercise, Food Choices, & Friends.

Blog Hop Hugs Ladies!  See ya next Thursday 🙂

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stressed-Less Living Blog Hop (Week 3)

  1. Stephanie M says:

    Well my goodness I need to look at some of your old blog posts! Right now I am still fairly new to the parenting thing — I’ve been married for almost 3 years, but my hubby has 2 teenagers. So I was welcomed to parenting for the first time with teens! So my stress-level has increased a lot since getting married. Thank you for posting that sermon series — I will definitely have to make time to check it out!

    Love your family workout thing! Wish we could afford to get the whole family a gym membership, but no can do with the finances. We’ll have to come up with something else. LOL I do feel better when I exercise, and sadly that just hasn’t been happening lately.

    Anyway, loved your post girl!

    • godizreal says:

      I hear you. My husband walked into teens too. Oh man I felt so bad for him. Yikes. On the gym, ours was $100.00 a month to add them. Yes, I thought that was too much. I justify it by saying $25/wk is a really cheap date night LOL. That makes me feel slightly better.

  2. great post! It is also points out how our physical well being, and spiritual well being requires a commitment from us, God bless you!
    Melissa OBS Group Leader

  3. yeevun says:

    I was reading your blog while eating tacos! LOL.. That is 1 area I struggle with is taking good care of myself but working on it! I love how you tie it all together! Great blog!

    • godizreal says:

      Well, you know, it may not be all tied together for everyone but it sure is for me. I look at our 7 & 10 yr olds and if they stay up too late, eat a bunch of garbage or don’t get some quite time and space then they get a little cranky. I think that applies to me too. Though sometimes I think I am far more sensative to what I eat and drink than many people. At least John thinks so LOL. Just one meal of junk really makes me feel ick. Tacos don’t though. I LOVE TACOS!!!

Leave a Reply

