iScream: Putting the Brakes on Busy (Let It Go Week 3)

iScream. Chapter Seven. Putting the Brakes on Busy.  Karen provides several tools to help us trim the fat off our schedules. Which tools will you use on your schedule? What are you able to let go so that you can regain some “schedule sanity”?

Some of my favorite highlights from this section are:

“If we get intentional about weeding out commitments and obligations before the schedule started its bossy chant, we wouldn’t need to seek such control in the first place.”   Bahahaha “bossy chant”.  This statement is awesome because anytime my husband asks me what my plans are I reply that I need to look at the calendar.  After all, the family calendar is my Mr. Bossman.  I do what it says I am to do and go where it says I am to go.   If anyone else would like me to do anything else, the appointment must be made through Mr. Bossman Calendar.  Pick up Child A at 4:00 pm, pick up Child B at 4:30 pm, drop Child C off at 6:30 pm & pick Child C back up at 8:30 pm.  I don’t know about you, but that’s my daily life and it doesn’t even show my paralegal job.  In fact, my work hours of 9 am – 3 pm are nothing compared to my after work hours of 3 pm – 7 pm.  Yikes!  Oh yes, I am still waiting patiently for my Proverbs 31 servant girls then maybe Mr. Bossman won’t be so bossy LOL!

“If you don’t thoroughly enjoy the activity or feel it needful to participate, opt out.  Don’t apologize.  Fight the urge to join out of a feeling of duty or to … please someone else.” This would be the Eat Clean Challenge group I joined on Facebook.  The intentions were good.  I did want to give it a try.  But, it’s just not going to workout.  Trial and error.  I tried.  It resulted in error LOL.

“We allowed our kids one free sport or major committment per year.”  Oh yes. We only allow 1 each and x 4 kids that’s still a lot sometimes.  Especially when their activities are the same day at the same time and you have to start dividing yourself.

“Resurrect the old practice of making  a pros and cons list.  Sometimes putting our thoughts down in writing can help you think more clearly and make the right call.  Chronical every reason you can conjure up as to why participation would be beneficial…. list the drawbacks.  Pray over each list, asking God to help you make the wisest call.”  Oh yes how I LOVE making pros and cons lists.  I make them for everything!!!

“Can I add the time needed to pray adequately for these people and responsibilities?”

“Say yes because you feel called, not because you consider yourself capable… resist answering in the affirmative unless you know God desires for you to serve, give, lead, or teach in this area.  If you don’t sense a yes from God, don’t give one to the person asking you to fill the role.”   Oh buddy, I needed this reminder a few months ago.  We were involved in an activity and the cons list was growing, growing, growing.  We had already discussed the fact that maybe it just was not the place for us.  But, we wanted to be involved and loved so many of the people and wanted it to be the place for us.  Then we were asked if we were interested in taking a larger role.  Absolutely!  First, we could help in the areas that were cons and try to be part of the solution  rather than being a finger-pointing complainer.  Secondly, if you really want to feel invested in something, you give more time and money to it right?  (It works with my kids LOL).  So, if we put more hours, more time, more money, more sweat, more prayer, into the project then wa la everything would be good right?  Um… no.  Quite the opposite.  Within a few weeks the cons were leaping off of the page like ALL CAPS BOLD FONT.  Nothing we could have done would have made it work even though in our heart of hearts we really really really wanted to love love love it and for it to be the place for us.  But, it just wasn’t and no amount of time or money or sweat or prayer was going to change that.  It was just going to drive us crazy.  It simply was not where God wanted us to park even though we wanted to park there.

“When we don’t feel stalked and chased by our schedules, we’re more likely to find a place of calm and order.”  Oh and enjoyment.  Because we are trimming fat, when the girls group invited me to dinner tonight, woo hoo my schedule was free and clear.  Yes please!

We’re human beings not human doings… err on the side of less doing and more being.

Great advice Ms. Let It Go Bible Study teacher.  And hugs to all participating.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to iScream: Putting the Brakes on Busy (Let It Go Week 3)

  1. oilsbydesign says:

    Girl, you are fun! I can tell just by over-viewing this blog, reading your insight so far in our study; Thank YOU for being a blessing to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! have an awesome rest of the week!

  2. Great post – I need to trim some fat and I’m retired. Actually I was for a few days and then BAM, BAM, BAM. Thank you so much for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Small Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

