Welcome to Controllers Anonymous (Let It Go Blog Hop 1)

Hi, my name is Sister Susie and I have the tendency to overly micro manage things.  I am hoping that Let It Go will help me LET IT GO!!!

I completely identify with the woman on Page 14.  The “competent woman who can run a bang-up PTA bake sale or plan a fabulous family reunion…juggle home, school, professional life…with downright riveting results.  Being able to multitask, to craft duties and delegate tasks is beneficial on many fronts.  The problem lies with our failure to know where and when to draw the line… competency is a sought-after strength. But if carried to an extreme and left unchecked… can hinder our relationships both inside and outside of the home…” . Yes, I agree.  So why has the Lord still not fixed me yet LOL?  Let me schedule Him an appointment to meet with me for that. Right?  Anyone else know what I mean?

Having lunch with a friend recently, I mentioned that I seem to be an “all or nothing” person.  And though sometimes that can be amazing, it most certainly can be a detriment.  For example, this week there was a marching band booster meeting at my son’s school and I decided not to go.  Knowing my “all or nothing” weakness, if I went I would likely be tempted to jump into more tasks (they are so good at applying pressure for volunteers) than I can handle and regretfully become booster president in a few years.  So I just skipped the meeting altogether (without feeling guilty since I had previously emailed them regarding what I could help with).  That is showing me that I am learning balance.  To perform certain tasks but without getting in over my head.  My goal is to one day be able to attend the meeting BUT NOT jump into the leadership tasks.  Of course… that same personality trait proved helpful when I was secretary and treasurer for the local Paralegal Association LOL.  So, round and round the merry-go-round I go.  Balance please …. sigh.

The Unglued Bible Study and journey toward imperfect progress did wonders for me.  And now I am equally excited and hopeful that Let It Go may help the “all or nothing” micro managing perfectionist diva within me learn to LET SOME THINGS GO!

So, nice to meet you fellow controllers and micro managers.  It’s a pleasure doing this study with you and my other micro managing planner friend.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome to Controllers Anonymous (Let It Go Blog Hop 1)

  1. I am definitely all or none too! Great blog post, God bless you! 🙂

    Melissa S OBS Leader group 33

  2. Stephanie M says:

    So nice to meet you Jennifer! I have my own control issues too, believe me. I’m really hopeful that this study, along with the support of some great ladies, will help me to make some positive changes in my life.

  3. I am right in there with you – so overloaded and I retired last year. About two months at home cleaning and now I am leading OBS, substitute teach, meeting friends for lunch, visiting my mom at the nursing home but I am doing it as unto the Lord. Hugs to you as we both keep reading and learning to Let.It.Go. Debbie Williams (OBS Leader)

  4. imahuskermom says:

    Hi, my name is Kimberly, and I’m a controller ;). Thanks for your brutal honesty. I do believe it gets better with age, truly! This study will be great for all of us.

  5. So very true! I “like” micro managing, but have learned in time, and with age and experience, why oh why would I stress myself out so???!?!? Oh Lord help! ☺ We are walking this life of faith out, one step at a time! Making our GOAL His purpose for each of our lives!

  6. Jennifer-
    Thank you SO MUCH for participating in the blog hop. Praying for all of us as we learn to stop trying to control and start trusting God. Have a great weekend and remember to LET. IT. GO. 🙂
    {Hugs} Karen Ehman

Leave a Reply

