Speaking (My Index Card Notes)

For the past few months, the Holy Spirit has really been revealing things to me about speaking.  Now, this one is sort of new to me because a few years ago He kept showing me how to shut up.  In a kind and patient, gentle conviction sort of way, of course.  Ya know… be quick to listen and slow to speak LOL.  If you only knew how difficult that one is for me!  Which always reminds me that if we could control our tongues, we would be perfect and could also control ourselves in every other way (James 3:2).  I would say “Lord, I’m trying”.  But honestly, I can’t fix myself.  It absolutely takes God to change me into this image that He desires to create.  And short of invasive dental surgery, I cannot imagine this untamable tongue (James 3:8) being under perfect control.  Nope.  Can’t imagine it.

So about the speaking notes.  I’ve decided to go ahead and make journal notes as I feel impressed to jot them down and I’ll continue to add to and edit them as I feel impressed.  As time passes, I believe they will make more sense and come together.  Maybe they are for you too and it’s what you needed to hear.   You never know.

So, My Notes (for the past few months):

Speak as though God himself were speaking through you … then everything you do will bring glory to God.  1 Peter 4:11.

Don’t get involved in foolish arguments that only start fights.  A servant of the Lord must not quarrel but be kind to everyone, able to teach, and be patient with difficult people.  Gently instruct those who oppose the truth…then they can escape the devil’s trap.  2 Tim 2:23-26.

Making Honesty Godly: when we are wise, we pause and measure our words to get at the heart of the issue without sabotaging the heart of our offender.  Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst (p. 55).

The Lord said to me, you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you.  And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you…Then the Lord reached out and touched my mouth and said “Look, I have put my words in your mouth!”  Jer 1:6-9.

Dont be afraid! Speak out! Dont’ be silent! For I am with you… Acts 18:9-10.

Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves; ensure justice for those being crushed.  Yes, speak up for the poor and helpless, and see that they get justice.  Prov 31:8-9.

Sidebar – though it’s not a verse per se, I really love in Gen 18 the way Abraham humbly asked the Lord if he could speak.  And he actually “pleaded” and said to the Lord, “please don’t be angry… but let me speak”.  Abraham did that several times.  And the Lord was just ever so gracious and continued to allow Abraham to speak to Him.  I really love that.  God is so that way with me.  Patient and long suffering.  Allowing me to speak to Him and express my concern for others and their causes.  Letting me vent.  Ahhhh…. the safety of speaking with God.  I just love it.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

