The Storms of Life

On October 27, 2010, I journed about “The Storms of Life” while going through the most severe storm I had ever encountered.  One that brought all the “if God really loved me, how did He ever allow this to happen” emotions to the surface in my mind.  Ever had those?  And you know what, I can honestly sit here almost 2 years later and verify that God does use all things for my good even when I do not see any hope at all.

The Storms of Life

Right now our family is involved in a severe thunderstorm (metaphorically speaking) with tornados and flying debris all around.  We have also been involved in storms in the past like our friends and family have.  Some are an F1 and some are an F5 but few lives are perfectly smooth with amazing weather year round.

I remember being a new Christian and having storms arise.  I would be so upset because I was finally turning my life around and trying to do everything right to please God.

The longer I walked with God the more I noticed that storms hit both the godly and ungodly, the righteous and unrighteous, the saint and the sinner … everyone gets hit with storms regardless of religious affiliation or how good they are.  As I read the New Testament I noticed that the disciples and those closest to Jesus, first generation Christians, suffered some of the most severe storms.

Then the parable of Christ as the foundation finally began to make sense.

Matt 7:24-27 (NLT). Anyone who listens to my teaching and obeys me is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse, because it is built on rock. But anyone who hears my teaching and ignores it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will fall with a mighty crash.

The storm and its effects beat both houses but, in Christ, His strength and who we are in Him will keep our house from collapse.

When storms occur, I still ask God “why” and don’t understand.  But God, I will praise you through the storm.  I believe that you can and you will hold up our house during this storm and that when it passes you will help us remodel our home to make it even better.

And He did (2 years later I can verify that).

The Storms of Life reminds of me this: Mark 4:35-41 Jesus “got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”  They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

I don’t know your storm.  But I sure do know the One who speaks to the storm and it obeys him.   Trust Him.  His yoke is easy and His burden is light.  And He can, with one command, cause the storm to cease.

I hope this encourages you as much as it encouraged me.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in christianity, religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Storms of Life

Leave a Reply

