Current Events: Randy Travis in Texoma’s News? (Identity Crisis)

Let me make this real quick disclaimer.  I am NOT bashing Mr. Randy.  But, I do want to take this opportunity to use an “in the news” current event to share my thoughts.  And let’s get real, celebrities make the news like no other.

In case you don’t know, I am a Texoman (or was until June 2012) and I have worked very closely with the Grayson County Judicial System where Mr. Randy was booked and released and work in the office of the attorney who bonded him out (not for him, he’s just a renter of the space).  And many of my Texoma friends are posting these Randy photos and jokes (especially the one about only in Texoma….) and they’ve caught my attention.

Anyway….  My husband and I have been talking about this current event, and here’s my stance.  My personal theory is that he’s having an Identity Crisis!

My first thought is “awe, noooooooo”.  Why? Because alcohol is a numbing agent.  I don’t know many people who drink to that level “for fun”.  Back in the teens and college years or occasional partying, yeah ok I could see that.  But for those who have abused alcohol to the point that it has affected their profession, family, finances, required jail time, or has been a real PROBLEM,  there is usually “something” else that’s at the root of the cause for the drinking.   That’s no longer “party and fun mode”.  That is a person crying out that they are deeply wounded thus intensely self-medicating.  A hurt, pain, need to forget, want to escape …. Something.

So, my first thought is, what is hurting you so deeply?   Now, I don’t expect him to answer this question and tell me why he’s hurting.  But, regardless of why he’s hurting, there is an answer and my  theory is that it’s because he has forgotten his identity.  Not as a super star or what he “does”, but WHO he belongs to.

It’s my understanding that Mr. Randy is a Christian.  If I am wrong, I’ll retract that.  But guess what, being a Christian doesn’t mean you aren’t human, don’t make mistakes, don’t have failures, and have mastered crucifying your flesh 100% of the time.  But, if you are a Christian, and have forgotten WHO you are (primarily WHOSE you are), you can do all kinds of crazy things and make bad choices more often that not.

So, Mr. Randy (and whoever else may need this reminder), let me remind you of WHO you are.

You are a new creation, created in Christ Jesus, with “new” things from God on the inside of you. 2 Cor. 5:17-18

You are righteous and holy. Rom. 5:17; Eph. 4:24

Sin no longer has power over you. Rom 6:1-6

You have the mind of Christ. 1 Cor. 2:16

You are forever free from condemnation. Rom. 8:1

God is now your Father and you are His child. 1 John 3:1

God is for you and no one can successfully stand against you. Rom. 8:31

He has chosen you and you are blameless in His eyes. Eph. 1:4-5

With Jesus, you are more than a conqueror. Rom 8:37

You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. Phil 4:13

You have become a temple of God. 1 Cor 6:19

You are a friend of God. John 15:15

You are a saint. Eph 1:1, 18; Phil 1:1

You are a partaker of Christ; you share in His life and heavenly calling. Heb 3:1, 14

You are a member of a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for God’s own possession. 1 Peter 2:9

You have direct access to God through the Spirit. Eph 2:18

You have been redeemed and forgiven of all your sins. The debt against you has been canceled. Col 1:14

You have been given everything you need to live a godly life. 2 Peter 1:3

You have been given a spirit of power, love, and self-discipline. 2 Tim 1:7

Yes, I am thoroughly convinced that Mr. Randy is going through something painful and has just forgotten his identity.  So, Mr. Travis, please get right back up, dust yourself off, and spend some time remembering WHOSE you are.

Don’t allow yourself to be a victim of identity theft.

The thief came to steal, kill and destroy (your identity!), but Jesus came to give you LIFE and life more abundantly. John 10:10.

Prayers for you and your family Mr. T.

About godizreal

A real life Princess because my Father is a King!
This entry was posted in christianity, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Current Events: Randy Travis in Texoma’s News? (Identity Crisis)

  1. john says:

    Well, In a few short words you have expressed, EXACTLY, my own sentiments. I am not a blogger, consequently i do not know how to do blogs. Had I known how to do one my words would be as echoes to your words. Identity crisis can be a real bad experience when the world pulls one way and God is showing us another. I hurt for Mr. Travis, yet rejoice in the lessons I pray will be learned, not just by Randy, but by the rest of us who may share similar frustrations and experiences in life. Your blog is a genuine expression of your heart when others are hurting. I would hope Randy Travis might find it and be jarred back to a realization of who he is in Christ.

    Thanks for your Blog
    John

Leave a Reply

